when your mom tells you to wake the fuck up and take care of it. ugh..

img_7042

so.. i’ve been a single mom (not by choice, widow) an entrepreneur (hardest thing ever, but i did it) a home owner, volunteer… everything for a very long time. and I’ve survived it. Angry and frustrated at times but i’m alright. I grew from the experience.

BUT… what do i do on a cold winter morning after a cold shower (only cause the hot water didn’t kick in). I open up the door to the crawl space. I see water spitting out of my hot water tank.

I panic.

I grab my phone, sit by the edge of my hot water tank, my feet dangling since the tank and I are about 5 steps apart (it’s located in the crawl space of my house) and I cry.

I cry because i’m tired. I’m tired of the inequality people experience in this country. i’m tired of being isolated in business, i’m tired of being a single mom and the sole decision maker for my home, my son, my own life. I’m tired of trying to explain who I am and my values, i’m tired of meeting leaders in the community, province, country who are a bunch of self serving fuck faces. I’m tired of seeing the poor in their position, i’m tired of people not understanding my position, i’m tired of talking, i’m almost even tired of people.

so, as all this shit,emotions are overwhelming me. while I sit and watch my hot water tank die…

what do i do?

I call my MOM.

We don’t always get along, but i called my mom.

She gave me the best advice ever.

“Stop fucking sulking, get up and go turn the god damn water off. THEN, find the number for the supplier of the tank. It should be under warranty.”

Me.

I stopped dangling my feet. Got up, turned the red water valve a quarter to the left and called the number listed on the tank.

thats it. sometimes you need a kick in the ass to get past the sorrow and get that energy moving again.

REBOOT! 

Leave a comment